For about a year now, I’ve been dreaming of owning a spinning wheel. In the first meeting of my spinning class* in January 2014, I got to treadle an Ashford Kiwi. I was pretty sure that I was eventually going to get a Kiwi, because I have a tough time saying no to anything with a bird on it. (Their namesake appears on the treadle.)

I started researching different wheels, because I LOVE researching products. It didn’t take me long to come across the Schacht Ladybug and as a graduate student in entomology, I was immediately smitten. Not only is this wheel called the Ladybug, there’s a little ladybug hidden on each wheel. One of the joys of getting your wheel is locating your personal bug. Squee! Adorable marketing aside, the Ladybug is very highly regarded and comes at a price point that feels reasonable to me.

However,I wasn’t sure about the red plastic drive wheel and oversize rounded treadles. Aesthetically, the Kromski Fantasia seemed like it would better match my plain IKEA furniture. Then I started reading up on the Lendrum folding wheel, and that sounded like a versatile, and attractive, option. After my Lendrum phase, I became sold on the Schacht Cherry Matchless, as I love cherry.

Although I’d fantasized about wheels quite a bit, I’d only ever treadled that single Kiwi. At Stitches West, I finally got to find out if I actually enjoy wheel spinning. I tried a Lendrum. And a Sidekick. And a Ladybug. And a Matchless. I quickly realized that I adore spinning wheels. Treadling was so rhythmic and soothing. I could see myself spending a good chunk of each day relaxing at my wheel. I was now convinced that owning a wheel was a matter of when, not if.

After flirting with a variety of wheels, I’ve come back to the Ladybug. I shouldn’t have judged her. She’s a lovely wheel, both on paper and when you’re spinning on her. And she’s named for an insect!

Smitten though I may be, I’m not rushing out to buy a Bug. Why? My fabulous time at Stitches didn’t come cheap. I bought a lot of yarn, and while I adore every skein, I bought a lot of yarn. By the time the marketplace closed, I was ready, both financially and psychologically, for an extended period of cold sheep.

20150312_112056
My Stitches yarn haul, spare 2 skeins

I really want that Ladybug, and that makes it the ideal motivation for me to stop buying yarn. I devised a little system to help me stay on track. I decided that I need to earn 100 points in order to purchase a wheel. Each day that I don’t buy any yarn, I earn 1 point. I also earn 1 point for every skein that I destash. Each time I buy a skein of yarn, I lose 1.5 points, and each time I buy a non-yarn hobby item, such as notions, I lose 1 point. I am not penalizing myself for purchasing fiber, as I do not have a spinning stash.

I began this system on February 23rd, and I’ve only had to subtract one point (because I purchased a Craftsy class, Drafting from Worsted to Woolen). I’m very proud of myself for sticking to my system. So far, it’s a success. Sometime in June, I should be getting my very own Ladybug 🙂

By the way, I apologize for the lack of photos in this post. I took a few nice pictures in the garden today while looking for ladybugs, so I hope to share those soon. I had to dig into my photo vault for the ladybug picture I’ve featured here.

*The first meeting of spinning class was also my last meeting. I began having issues with the skin on my hand when the class started, and I had to give up all fiber arts for quite a while.

7 thoughts on “Ladybugs and Cold Sheep

    1. I’m glad to hear you’re so happy with your wheels! The Kiwi was really adorable but I think the Ladybug will serve me better right now. There’s a wheel for every purpose, so maybe a Kiwi will be in my future after all 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

