Last Wednesday, I woke up and really wanted to crochet myself a bunny. I completely adore the rabbit I’m pet sitting, Snowflake, and my love for her has led to bunny fever. I already knew I wanted to use the Planet June Baby Bunnies pattern. As for yarn, I chose some Lion Brand Wool-Ease because it’s off-white, just like Flakey, and it didn’t need to be wound.

At this point, I had my pattern and I had my yarn, but I didn’t remember how to crochet very well. Thankfully, getting back up to speed was a breeze thanks to Planet June’s amazing library of crochet tutorials. These tutorials answered all of my questions, and I had very good results. I especially recommend the ultimate finish for amigurumi, the invisible decrease, the invisible increase, and the seamless join. I am very thankful that June (Gilbank) provides this incredibly resource to all of us for free.

Crocheting my bunny was not only fun, but liberating as well. I was very intimidated by the fact that I was going to have to make a bunch of components and then join them. It sounded fiddly and tedious. I now know that I was being ridiculous. Even though the bunny consisted of 8 parts, 7 of those 8 parts only took a few minutes each to make. They were neither difficult nor time-consuming. And the joining? Not a problem. I cannot continue to discard awesome patterns simply because they require joining/seaming!

20150328_092336As much as I adored my crocheted bunny, I mailed her off right after I finished her. While I was crocheting this rabbit, I decided that she should live with a friend of mine, whose family recently suffered the loss of one of their rescued rabbits. This sweet little girl was saved from a hoarding situation by Sweet Binks Rabbit Rescue, along with dozens of other bunnies. Sadly, in spite of heroic efforts and much love, her health issues were too severe for her to overcome. The sad death of this bunny underscores the importance of responsible pet ownership.

Snowflake approves.
Snowflake approves.

With Easter coming up in just a few days, we’re swamped with images of adorable rabbits, and the temptation to get one can be strong. Rabbits are amazing companions, but in order to be happy together, it’s important to know about the relationship you’re entering. Expect a healthy rabbit to live at least ten, if not twelve, years. Be prepared to provide fresh hay and vegetables, in addition to hours of supervised playtime, every day for those ten+ years. Though it used to be common practice to keep rabbits in backyard hutches, many experts believe that rabbits are healthiest and happiest inside with the family. This means you need to rabbit proof your home because rabbits really need to get their exercise. Be prepared to provide regular veterinary care, which can be costly. This includes spay/neuter, which eliminates many undesirable behaviors and is also essential for preventing uterine cancer in females. Most of all, you must be committed to educating yourself about how to form a successful relationship with a very unique animal. Rabbits are not dogs, or cats, and have very different behaviors and requirements.

Rabbits like to chew.
Rabbits like to chew. IKEA, personalized by Snowflake.

If you are seriously considering adding a rabbit (or two, they’re very social) to your family, I urge you to get in touch with a local rabbit adoption agency or animal shelter. There are thousands of adorable, sweet bunnies looking for new homes, oftentimes because their original owners weren’t prepared to commit to them. Rescue groups are great sources of information, and can help you decide if a rabbit is the right addition to your family. Browsing The House Rabbit Society website is an excellent way to learn more about pet rabbits or find a rescue group near you.

After I mailed off my first bunny to my friend, I had to start another one. Meet Flopsy, the English Lop.

20150331_185951

2 thoughts on “Bunny Fever

  1. I love your Easter Bunnies! We had a rabbit for many years and he was my craft companion. I always tell people if they are serious about a rabbit they should volunteer at a rescue the month after Easter. So many are either turned outside or turned in to shelters when people realize that they have their own personalities and aren’t as easy to care for as the stuffed counterpart!

    Like

    1. Thank you! Rabbits are great craft companions. That is great advice to volunteer with a rabbit rescue before adopting one of your own. Having lived with Snowflake for a few months, I’ve certainly learned that bunnies have (strong) personalities. She’s very determined to do what she wants and will find a way. I eventually decided it was easier to let her behind the couch than to keep trying to block it. It’s much easier to figure out a way to work with her than against her, because she’ll never give up.

      Like

Leave a Reply

